Musical Musings

31 Mar

So, I’m sitting here in the music department on campus waiting for my chapter sisters to show up so we can get these step/stroll routines together. While I’m waiting, I have been listening to my mp3 player and trying my best not to scare the white people around me. I tell ya, this music is making me feel some kinda way! Right now, Rachelle Farrell and Will Downing are SLAYING me. Donny Hathaway nearly had me in fits earlier. Most of what I’ve been listening to today can loosely be categorized as “soul”, but I went on a downloading binge last night and got a bunch of stuff from the early- to mid-90s. R&B really has nothing to offer me after about ’97 or ’98.

“Wings of Love” by Jeffrey Osborne just came on. Give me a second…

Ok. As I was saying…music just isn’t the same anymore. I used to get irritated when my parents would say that my generation was making garbage, but (with a few notable exceptions) we are. Think about it: will you wanna listen to any of this crap when you’re in your 50s and 60s? Are you gonna want to hear “Aston Martin Music” or “Roman’s Revenge” at your 40th anniversary or 75th birthday?

Shoot, are you gonna wanna hear that ish in five years? This time NEXT year? My guess is probably not.

Where has all the good music gone? I wish I could go deeper into this, but my peeps just arrived.

Leave a message after the tone.

Posted from WordPress for Windows Phone

2 Responses to “Musical Musings”

  1. wildpalazzo April 2, 2011 at 7:37 am #

    Good music is far and few between, which is why my mind has been allowed to open up to as many genres as I have….well except for country.

    • blackberriez April 2, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

      I can tolerate country. I actually like bluegrass.

Leave a Reply

